Rody reviews Kdramas / #1 You’re Beautiful

Annyeong~

Image

Possibly the main reason why I started this blog is to write reviews (for books, songs, and dramas), so here I am starting my first review here, for the Korean drama “You’re Beautiful“.

Image

But first of all, I’ll tell how I roll *ehem* I mean review:

Firstly, there WILL be spoilers, sorry but I can’t review something without, you know, saying what I liked & what I didn’t like. And that would spoil some parts, so if you don’t want to spoil yet just yet, please come back after you’ve watched it (but make sure to come back, I love juicy discussions :* )

Secondly, there will some photo spam, I’ll try to keep it to minimum but please bear with it. (and who would say no to those gorgeous eye candies)

Lastly, I will review dramas depending on the following categories: Characters, Acting skills, is it funny? , is it romantic/ tear-jerking? , Soundtrack, Hotness level/Style, did it end well? , Moments to remember.

Now, without further ado, I’ll start with the review. 🙂

Image

This poster if it weren’t for them, I would have said it’s so..bleh.

  • General info:

Title: 미남이시네요 / Minami Shineyo
Also known as: He’s Beautiful / You’re Handsome
Genre: Romance, comedy
Episodes: 16

  • Synopsis:

Image

The management company of the idol group A.N.JELL insisted on adding a new singer to the group as the lead vocal, Tae Kyung’s voice was hurting. However,the new member, Mi Nam, had to go to the States to repair a botched eye job just before signing the contract. His agent came up with the idea of having his twin sister, Mi Nyu,to stand in for him and pretend that she was her brother. The two of them grew up in an orphanage and Mi Nyu, who was all set to become a nun, agreed to this charade as she didn’t want to spoil her brother’s chance of fame which would make it easier to look for their mother.

  • Characters:
Image

The Cutest bride, I loved that scene

Go Mi Nyo/Go Mi Nam: Mi Nyo, The naïve –to being stupid, at times- girl who was brought up in a convent after she was separated from her twin brother, Mi Nam. Mi Nam grew up wanting to be a singer. She takes her brothers’ place and unfortunately for her and luckily for us, all three guys fall for her! I mean you can be naïve about one guy liking you, two even! But not three! Even if she was brought up in a convent, there’s no one THIS naïve. (Trademark: her pouty face and “Hyung-nim”)

 

Image

Hey there, Mr. I-have-a-smile-that-could-kill-you. ❤

Hwang Tae Kyung: The Stubborn, arrogant, hot-headed, and dark-blind leader of “A.N.JELL”. He’s the second one to find out about Mi Nyo’s true identity (first one from his & Min Nyo’s point of view) and little by little he starts falling for her! (Trademark: Smirk, adorable-sunshine-filled smile, and PigRabbit)

 

Image

HOT!

Kang Shin Woo: The Romantic, caring, thoughtful and sweet guy. He’s the first to know about Mi Nyo’s identity though he never said so until later in the series. He loves Mi nyo (too!) and gets rejected (in so many ways and so many times that it’s too sad to watch) and finally gives up on her! (Trademark: Busan references and playing with Mi Nyo’s hair)

 

Image

I want to be that banana!

Jeremy:  The fun-loving, humorous, cute, life of the party member, and yet again he also falls in love with Mi Nyo (seriously?). He and Shin Woo, we don’t get to hear much of their background stories but he makes it up with his lovable personality (and amazing voice, I have Hongki bias). (Trademark: Dog, Angelina Jolie and the Treasure bus).

 

Image

Yoo Heyi: She’s the evil character, she is a famous actress and happens to find out Mi Nyo’s secret and decides to blackmail Tae Kyung to date her or else she’ll expose Mi Nyo.

 

Image

Mr Ahn (the JACKPOT guy!), Manager Ma, and the coordinato blabbering Unni. 😀

Manager Ma: he’s my favorite character after the “A.N.JELL” band. His fantasies are hilarious and his reactions are even cuter than Jeremy (if that’s even possible).

(There are so many characters but these are my favorite (and worst in Yoo Heyi’s case) )

  • Acting:

Image

I loved the acting especially from Young Hwa since this was his first role, he did really well. Shin Hye is cute, but her reactions are too girly that it difficult for me at many times to be convinced with her “boyish” act. Jang Seuk is amazing (he has a smile to die for!) and that’s enough reason to love him. Hongki on the other hand is a brilliant actor, he can laugh a second and cry the next (The treasure bus scene). As for Uee, I HATED her, that means that she could actually act, she convinced me.

  • Is it funny?
Image

HAHAHAHA XD

It’s Hilarious 😀 , even though there are so many tearful moments. I can assure you if you’re for laughs, each episode will give you plenty of them. With Mi Nyo’s being clueless, Tae Kyung being dumbfounded when he was starting to have feelings for her, Jeremy and his dog, Manager Ma’s imagination and so many other moments.

  • Is it Romantic/tear-jerking?

Image

Your Heart is racing …

Image

Then your heart is crying 😦

It’s very Romantic and very Tear-jerking. Romance here is when you’re caught in a love rectangle, all boys love her and she will end up choosing only breaking the other two hearts (and ours as well). I cried each time Shin Woo was stood up, when Jeremy was on the bus singing his heart out, when she and Tae Kyung left each other, when Tae Kyung’s mother broke them apart at first.

  • Soundtrack:
Image

Despite the outrageous outfits, I laughed my heart out in this scene. 😀

The series has some really beautiful songs:

1.Still/As Before – Lee Hong Ki
2. Falling From Before – Miss $ , Oh Won Bin
3. Nothing Said – 9th Street
4. Lovely Day – Park Shin Hye
5. Promise – A.N. JELL
6. Raging Heart – Kim Dong Wook
7. Nothing Said – Park Shin Hye
8. Still/As Before – A.N. JELL

But most of the times we get to hear only 2 or three songs, getting repeated. But I actually don’t mind since I’m absolutely in love with the music. I was smiling like an idiot when Jeung Seuk was singing Frank Sinatra’s “Fly Me to the Moon”. I still don’t understand why Miley Cyrus’ “The Climb” was played about three times in different episode, is it that good?

  • Hotness Level/Style:

Image

HOT HOT GUYS! I mean with Jeung Seuk, Young Hwa, and Hong Ki where would you find this much of hot guys (and incredibly cute at times). Most of the episodes I’m either screaming “waaaaah” or “I LOVE YOU, LOVE ME!”

Image

Really? I don’t even get what they’re wearing! but that doesn’t deny the fact that Jang Seuk is HOT and Shin Hye is lucky!

Though I love the Korean style, but it could get bizarre at times. I mean most of Tae Kyung’s outfits were so… bleh. I couldn’t get the stylist, really! The most stylish one had to be Shin Woo and Mi Nyo (her girly outfits were all perfect!).

  • Moments to remember:

Image

Ah, the smirk.

Image

FIRST KISS, fireworks afterwards (sorry shin woo 😥 )

Image

I was smiling like her, maybe even more ;3

Image

Aww, Pig-Rabbit.

Entrance of Pig-Rabbit, Jeremy moments (ALL OF THEM), Tae Kyung first smile, Mi Nyo’s fireworks, Shin Woo showing Mi Nyo around through cellphone, ALL of Manager Ma or Tae Kyung’s imaginative fantasies ..etc

  • Did it end well?
Image

I’m in love, really!

Well yeah I guess. I mean I wanted more of course, they got together and I only get to see 10 minutes of that getting together! Please I need a movie, Season 2, Special episode, ANYTHING!

  • Rating: 5/5, it’s really addictive and I recommend it to anyone!
Image

Kiss me instead, Jeremy sshi ❤

I hope you liked my review!
I wanted to spam it with more gifs, but thought that I should go easy on you, otherwise you won’t even bother visiting the blog again -,-“

waiting for your love.

Image

Leave a Reply

