Rody Reviews kdramas / #4 “Personal Taste”

Image

I’m Back~

Although I originally intended to watch a Japanese drama this time, I just couldn’t resist when someone recommended “Personal Taste” for me, and the fact that Lee Min Ho was the lead man made me change my mind! (I’m officially having dreams of him as my boyfriend!)

It’s actually based on a novel with the same name by “Lee Se-in”. It’s really sweet & funny, although the beginning is somehow dull, it starts to get more interesting as the show goes on (though, too much drama!).

   Remember, spoilers and photo spam is ahead!

  • General info:

Image

Title: 개인의 취향 / Kaeinui Chwihyang
Also known as: Kae In’s Taste / Personal Taste
Genre: Romance, Comedy, Drama
Episodes: 16

  • Synopsis:

Image

Jeon Jin Ho is a straight guy who pretends to be gay in order to become Park Kae In’s roommate. His hobbies include organization and ironing, and he’s known for his stoic poker face. He’s a stickler for cleanliness, but he also has a talent for figuring out women’s feelings. Kae In is very trusting even though she has a habit of being betrayed. However that doesn’t stop her from giving people the benefit of doubt and Jin Ho is no different. How will Kae In react when she finds out that her gay roommate is not actually gay at all and that he has fallen for her? 

 

  • Characters:

Image

Park Gae In: She’s the clueless helpless furniture designer, who forgives and falls in love too easily. She’s the daughter of a famous architect who built the (Sanggojae) which is a major factor throughout the drama. At the beginning she seemed too pathetic, too clingy and too helpless. But as the drama goes on, her character starts getting better. She’s in love with her boyfriend Chang Ryul, who only sees her as a girl since she refused to sleep with him, and breaks up with her, the next day he’s marrying her best friend (EX best friend!), that causes her life to change. I hated her at first, I mean nobody is THIS pathetic! But I started feeling sorry for her and her character started getting better, and she’s actually funny and cute when she smiles!

 

Image

Jeon Jin Ho: The strict yet soft architect, he starts off as a poker-faced guy who doesn’t really care about anybody’s feelings to a totally different person. Due to some circumstances Gae In & her friend think that he’s gay, and that turns to be in his favor when he tries to rent a room at Sanggojae, for reasons he didn’t tell Gae In about. After fooling her for being gay, they started becoming closer, being friends and eventually fall in love. HE’S THE SWEETEST GUY EVER! And later on would prove to be the most perfect boyfriend ❤

 

Image

Kim In Hee: The devil witch! She’s been friends with Gae In for 10 years, always envying her and trying to steal all that was hers, until she stole Gae In’s boyfriend and were about to get married, until the marriage was called off. Through the whole series she tries to sabotage Gae In’s life and her relationship with Jin Ho, she’s such a b**ch; I don’t think I’ve ever hated anyone like this through my whole life!

 

Image

Han Chang Ryul: He starts off as Gae In’s idiot selfish boyfriend who breaks up with her to marry her friend, then as the drama goes on he actually starts loving her, till he in the end becomes somehow a decent guy who lets her have her happy life with Jin Ho. I actually hated him for one reason, messing with my Jin Ho and HIS FATHER! His father has to be on the top of “Evil Parents in Dramas” list (He and his annoying laugh).

 

Image

Lee Young Sun: The sweet mother and photographer Gae In have as a friend. I loved her lot, what I hated the most was the fact that she was a mother, why couldn’t she be single and let her end happily with Sang Joon, They’re adorable together.

 

Image

I just kept hitting repeat whenever he’s saying this. HILARIOUS!

No Sang Joon: Jin Ho’s friend and mainly the source of all troubles (and laughs). He’s hilarious and his act as a gay guy is really the best, he’s got some precious moments! I just LOVE HIM! I just wished that he and In Hee wouldn’t have ended up together; nobody deserves to be with this HER!

 

Image

Choi Do Bin (Director Choi): The sweetest character of them all, he’s so understanding, sweet, cute (whenever he gets embarrassed around Jin Ho or tells a bad joke). Oh, did I forget to mention that he’s gay and will think that Jin Ho is gay too and would have a crush on him? YIKES. But later on, he’s the most understanding one about Gae In and Jin Ho’s relationship and keeps helping them (especially when he gave her the two tickets for ice rink and ripped the third one to let them be together and work things out, SWEET ❤ )

 

  • Acting:

Image

The main couple was sweet and had so much charisma going, despite the age difference. Lee Min Ho was the main reason I originally started this and he manages to pull off the role, he’s sweet yet cold (and not to mention his kisses, I was disappointed with silly kisses from Boys Over Flowers). Son Ye Jin at first didn’t really appeal to me, I thought she was too annoying but she grew on me (despite at times I wanted her to be not that clueless) but her acting is cute too! Sun Hwa as Jin Ho’s friend was superb, also Seung Ryong as director Choi was totally unexpected and blew me off. Ji Hye really managed to pull that wicked witch part really good! Overall, though the beginning was kinda slow, they managed to keep me attached till the end.

 

  • Is it funny?
Image

Girl acting as a guy, and a guy acting as if he’s gay, what’s not funny?! 😀

YES! Especially Jin Ho and Gae In’s relationship at first and the whole gay thing! Also Sang Joon’s ability to break the tension with something really funny and totally unexpected (The Elevator scene here, PRICELESS) . (What I really loved is that I felt Min Ho and Ye Jin to have this charisma, they’re not awkwrd so they were able to joke around really good!)  

 

  • Is it Romantic/Tear-jerking?
Image

Some Romance, just for you 😉

Jin Ho & Gae In’s development is sweet, a lot of drama, jealousy, kisses and “Awww” moments. (Here for the Kisses in the drama <3). Jin Ho is amazingly sweet, like when he goes out to buy her pads, or when he’s helping her get over the cramps, or the way he looks at her. Romance is the word for this drama.

 

  • Soundtrack:

Image

The music in this drama is so addicting, and they’re all on my favorite playlist. “You’re My Wings” & “Dropping Rain” by Kim Tae Woo, “My Heart is Moved” by SeeYa, “Can’t Believe It” by Younha, “Creating Love” by 4minute, and “Like a Fool” by 2AM. You can see these are major idols, and their songs are perfect!

 

  • Hotness Level / Style:

Image

As much as I hate to admit it, I liked In Hee’s style & clothes, also Gae In’s style in later episodes and I hated the pants and Gae In’s style in the first episodes. For style & hotness, the key word is: LEE MIN HO! ❤

Image

Sexyyy!

  • Moments to Remember:

Image

 

I think I would remember all of the moments they spent together, especially as a couple, Gae In & Jin Ho are just too cute. The proposal was cute & funny. Not to mention Sang Joon moments, and him calling Young Sun “Unnie”! 😀

Image

 

Image

The sweetest proposal EVER!

Image

My heart was beating too fast here!

  • Did it end well?
Image

MATCHING CLOTHES! ❤

The ending was sweet (though I wanted a wedding scene) but I liked how they showed us how it ended well for everyone (maybe not everyone, Director Choi is probably sad). But the last scene with Gae In & Jin Ho looking at the sky from Sanggojae was really heartwarming (though I don’t mind a special episode or anything like that!)

 

Image

  • Rating: 5/5, though I thought of giving it 4 only, because of the beginning and its slow pace, but Anything with Lee Min Ho in it shouldn’t get less than 5! (it’s clear that I’m way too biased!) 

Next, I’m right now re-watching “Secret Garden” to write my review on it, wait for it! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Rody Reviews kdramas / #4 “Personal Taste”

Leave a Reply

