Rody Reviews Kdramas / #7 “Mary Stayed Out All Night”

Image

I’m back with another drama, though I promised to do other reviews, I’ll postpone them a bit to review this adorable drama.

Mary Stayed Out All Night or Marry Me, Mary is actually an adaption of a Korean manhwa with the same name by Won Su Yeon. Though it follows the main plot of this manhwa, it doesn’t follow its main series of events; I’ve heard that there are a lot of differences. I haven’t read it yet, so I can’t judge that.

  • General info:

Image

Title: Mary Stayed Out All Night / 매리는 외박중 / Maerineun Oebakjoong
Also known as: Marry Me, Mary!
Genre: Romance, Comedy
Episodes: 16

  • Synoposis:

Image

Wi Mae Ri is the cheerful, pragmatic daughter of a failed businessman who had grown used to being constantly on the move to escape from debtors. She becomes fast friends with the free-spirited indie singer Kang Moo Kyul when she nearly ran him over in a car. Meanwhile, her father Wi Dae Han is saved from his debtors by his old friend, Jung Suk, who had just returned from considerable success in the Japanese entertainment industry. Jung Suk, who had harboured a secret love for Mae Ri’s mother, sets up a deal with Dae Han to have Mae Ri marry his son, Jung In. Desperate to escape this predicament, Mae Ri begs Moo Kyul to pose as her husband, and finds herself in even more trouble than before when her father proposes a 100-day period in which she has to divide her time equally between Moo Kyul and Jung In, after which she has to decide who to marry.

  • Characters:

Image

Wi Maeri / Mary (played by Moon Geun Young): The cute drama lover, adorable girl who wear big-sized clothes, I love her a lot. I haven’t watched many Geun Young dramas but I have to say I love her in this. Mary is a girl who never loved before and she’s 24 years old or had any dreams of her own, even her studies she can’t keep up with them because of her dad and his constant running away from debtors. She starts running from her father when he tries to set her up with his friends’ son, who paid all of their debts. Accidentally, she falls in love with the one she convinced to only play her husband in front of others to escape the whole marriage thing. It’s a typical drama, and she uses typical drama solutions to get away with things, sometimes it’s so unrealistic. She has this cuteness, which isn’t too much that’d you’d end up saying bleh. But what I didn’t like is that she didn’t even give Jung In a chance, she just shut him out, yes you’re in love with Moo Kyul, but before that you didn’t notice how sweet Jung In is? AND, you guys have sort of a history together, I felt when they showed that little story of their childhood as if they’re meant to be.

 

Image

Kang Moo Kyul (played by Jang Geun Suk): The indie rocker and leader of “Absolute Perfection” band, the guy with girly hair. Before I’d get on, too much musical roles, Geun Suk! Is this his fourth drama acting a musician? AND he’s pursuing a musical career, I’d love to see him in a different role. Back to the topic, he’s got this playboy image, when he’s not really a playboy, it’s just he has never really fell in love, until he met Mary. He’s hilarious when he’s drunk and a typical baby who didn’t feel any warmth growing up, he gets to act like a little baby around Mary, who makes up for all the warmth he lost as a child. I also loved their little “mung mung/miao = cat/dog” act with Mary, one of the few good things the first writer did.AND he makes some “Harry Potter” and “Shrek” references, gotta love him. Bonus Bonus: He wrote the last episode, we should thank him for the bromance scenes with Jung In, they were precious.

 

Image

Byun Jung In (played by Kim Jae Wook): The director and head of J.I Entertainment, and Mary’s husband (for the most of the show, at least). He is the son of Jung Suk, a friend of Mary’s father who was secretly in love with Mary’s mother, that’s why he wants his son to marry Mary, to make up for him not being able to marry her mom. At first, he was a bit snobbish and not interested in Mary at all. But as he began to fall for Mary, I began to fall for him as well. It’s also obvious that the second/new writer loves him; she gave him a lot of cute moments. I love him, and it’s the second time (after Boys over Flowers) where I wished for the main girl to end up with the second guy, not the main one. He built Mary a library for god’s sake. If a guy built me a library I would marry him, blindfolded. I love you, Jung In.

 

Image

Seo Joon (played by Kim Hyo Jin): Actress and Moo Kyul’s ex-girlfriend, and works with Jung In in his first production “Wonderful Day”. She appears as a snobbish actress, and later on she turns to be way to clingy to Moo Kyul and just can’t forget him, until the last episode where she completely lets go (way too long, right?). but she’s loyal, and it appears with her helping Jung In, during the crisis his company and the drama went through. I kinda expected them, her and Jung In, to end up together. Oh well, I prefer Jung In to till be available, for me. She had a lot of misunderstandings with Mary, but in the end she finally accepts Moo Kyul’s love for her.

 

Hahahaha.

Hahahaha.

Friends and Family: I hated all family members in this drama, which is a first. Mary’s father is so selfish wanting to marry his girl to his rich friend just cause he paid his debts, and don’t give me that happiness rubbish talk. Jung In’s father is creepy, is it 30 years that he was in love with Mary’s mom? And wanting to marry Mary to his son just to satisfy himself? And don’t get me started on Moo Kyul’s mother who only appears at her son’s side if she needs money or if she was dumped by another guy. The friends are bearable, Mary’s friends are kinda annoying, and Moo Kyul’s friends can be selfish at times not appreciating Moo Kyul. I mean they’re fighting with him for singing a ballad? Seriously? the guy gave up almost every contract offered to him just to stay with you!

  • Acting:

Image

Geun Suk and Geun Young appear to be very comfortable together which is a necessity if you’re going to be acting a couple, they were great. But Jae Wook was perfect (I’m biased, right?) he has some hilarious scenes, and he starts to warm up with each episode. I loved the acting and the chemistry between this trio. I have to say Hyo Jin really nailed it too, she actually made me hate for the most of the drama.

  • Is it Funny?

Image

Drunk Geun Suk, Hilarious Jae Wook (car scene), and epic Geun Suk and Geun Young scenes, yes its funny! The last episode is extra funny (bromance scenes).

Image

 

 

  • Is it Romantic/Tear-Jerking?
Image

Kiss my forehead too, Jae Wook!

A girl with two guys fighting over her (kinda)? Of course, it is romantic. Well, Jung In gave up early, but we can still see some sweet scenes between him and Mary, though they weren’t enough for me. Mary and Moo Kyul are adorable too, check their second kiss. As for the tears, I teared a little, because all of the misunderstanding in the latter episodes, seeing a character cry, makes me cry along with them. Not to mention, I was feeling sad that my baby Jung In, who sacrificed his love, was being left alone.

Image

Mary & Moo Kyul’s first kiss.

  • Soundtrack:

Image

Most of the songs of the OST are actually sung by Geun Suk, and I’m not complaining, he’s an amazing singer. The drama got some cute and varied background music too, which are good to listen to. I loved “Hello Hello” by Jang Geun Suk, “Super Star” by Han Seung Yeon, and “Tell Me your Love” by TRAX, there are more songs, but these three are addictive.

 

  • Hotness Level/Style:

Image

Kim Jae Wook, I love men in suits, and he applies to that like crazy, he’s a good dresser. Jang Geun suk, dresses awkwardly even for a rock/indie singer, there are outfits I literally almost shouted “WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?” and is it only me who likes him with spiked hair (like the one he had in “You’re Beautiful”)? Moon Geun Young on the other hand wears these huge accessories and big clothes and many layers, it’s cute and there are many outfits I actually loved, oh and I absolutely LOVE that hairstyle on her.

 

  • Moments to remember:
Image

Fake marriage photoshoot, too cute!

A lot is worthy to remember and there are a lot of scenes too which aren’t, I’ll leave you with some pics.

Image

Mung Mung / Miao little act in gif, TOO CUTE ❤

Image

The library scene is precious. ❤

Image

Image

Moo Kyul perverted thoughts. 😀

  • Did it end well?

Image

Mary became a screenwriter, Moo Kyul became nicer, Seo Joon became famous for her loyalty as an actress, Jung In and Mary got their divorce, and Jung In is as perfect as ever. Mary and Moo Kyul broke up twelve times (which is way too much, don’t you think?). Of course seeing how biased I am for Jung In, I’ll say the ending isn’t too nice. But that’s not the only reason, I just didn’t feel like it, and the whole wedding fiasco was completely unnecessary  it was as if it were there, only to make Moo Kyul misunderstand.

 

  • Rating: 4/5, the drama is nice and has got a good dose of cuteness and laughter, but the ending kinda ruined it.
Image

I LOVE this scene, she so reminds me of myself. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

